Skip Navigation
Menu

Faculty

Rutgers-New Brunswick
Name Research Interests Location
Myla Aronson
myla.aronson@rutgers.edu
848-932-4520
Patterns and drivers of global biodiversity; urban ecology; plant ecology Plant Physiology Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Tamar Barkay
barkay@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5664
Microbial transformation of metals Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Joan Bennett
profmycogirl@yahoo.com
848-932-6223
Fungal genetics and secondary metabolism Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Debashish Bhattacharya
bhattacharya@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6218
Using genomics to understand the origin of algae, their plastids, and place in the tree of life. Foran Hall,
G.H. Cook Campus
Kay Bidle
bidle@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3467
Marine microbes; phytoplankton physiology/mortality; virology; molecular ecology Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Juan Bonachela
juan.bonachela@rutgers.edu
848-932-5516
Theoretical models, from microbial ecology and evolution to terrestrial vegetation patterns. Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Monica Bricelj
mbricelj@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-9709
(Adjunct)
Shellfish ecophysiology/behavior, and aquaculture, especially of suspension-feeding bivalve mollusks. Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Yana Bromberg
YanaB@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-5638
Bioinformatics approaches to protein function prediction and genome variation analysis Lipman Hall
G.H. Cook Campus
Joanna Burger
burger@biology.rutgers.edu
848-445-4318
Avian and reptile behavior and ecology; salt marsh ecology; behavioral effects of heavy metals; ecological and human health risk; stakeholder participation Nelson Labs, Busch, Campus
David Bushek
bushek@hsrl.rutgers.edu
856-785-0074, ext. 4327
Shellfish ecology; parasitology; genetics; and aquaculture Haskins Shellfish Research Lab, Bivalve, NJ
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Keith Cooper
cooper@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5614
Comparative toxicology Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
John Dighton
Dighton@camden.rutgers.edu
609-894-8864
Forest soil ecology; nutrient dynamics; fungi and pollutants Pinelands Field Station, New Lisbon; Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Siobain Duffy
duffy@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6299
Emerging viruses; experimental evolution; phylogenetics; phage; microbes Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Ravit Golan Duncan
rgduncan@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-7496, ext. 8355
Science learning; teacher education; design of inquiry-based learning environments Graduate School of Education, College Ave Campus
Paul Falkowski
falko@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3426
Biogeochemical cycles; photosynthesis; biological oceanography; molecular biology and biophysics; physiological adaptation; plant physiology; evolution; mathematical modeling; symbiosis Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Dunne Fong
fong@biology.rutgers.edu
848-445-5268
Biodiversity in free-living and parasitic protozoa Nelson Hall, Busch Campus
Dina Fonseca
dinafons@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-3146
The genetic epidemiology of disease vectors especially in introduced species Headlee Research Laboratory, G. H. Cook Campus
Heidi Fuchs
hfuchs@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3252
"Marine population and community ecology; plankton-fluid interactions"
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Frank Gallagher
gallagher@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5167
 Our lab seeks to define ecological function within this context as a product of assembly theory, focused on urban novel communities. We have examined the sublethal impacts of soil metal contamination on plant species distribution, primary productivity, diversity and assemblage trajectory. Blake Hall
G.H. Cook Campus
Randy Gaugler
gaugler@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-9341
Invertebrate pathology; insect mating systems; vector biology Headlee Research Laboratory, G. H. Cook Campus
Angelica Gonzalez
angelica.gonzalez@rutgers.edu
856-225-6445
Community and ecosystem ecology, ecological stoichiometry, global environmental change. Waterfront Technology Center
Camden Campus
Robert Goodman
848-932-3600
Diversity and function of microorganisms in natural environments Food Science Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Jason Grabosky
Grabosky@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-0050
Tree canopy management issues in urban environments Urban Forestry Lab, G. H. Cook Campus

Thomas Grothues
609-296-5260 x 262
grothues@marine.rutgers.edu

Abundance and distribution of fishes as responses to both involuntary and behavioral physical factors.

Rutgers University Marine Field Station
Tuckerton NJ

Ximing Guo
xguo@hsrl.rutgers.edu
856-785-0074, ext. 4324
Molluscan biology, genetics, evolution, and aquaculture Haskins Shellfish Research Lab, Bivalve NJ
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Max Haggblom
Haggblom@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5646
Microbial ecology; environmental and applied microbiology Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Steven Handel
handel@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-4516
Restoration ecology; urban landscape ecology; plant population ecology; ecology in the design of public parks Plant Physiology Building, G. H. Cook Campus
JeanMarie Hartman
jhartman@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-8488
Plant community ecology; natural disturbance processes; wetlands Blake Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Bradley Hillman
hillman@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-3777
Viruses of plants and fungi, and molecular biology of selected fungi Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Olaf Jensen
ojensen@marine.rutgers.edu
410-812-4842
Fisheries science, population dynamics, and ecology of aquatic ecosystems
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Henry John-Alder
henry.john-alder@rutgers.edu
848-932-1064
Ecological and evolutionary physiology; emphasis on hormone systems in lizards Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Josh Kohut
kohut@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3496
Physical oceanography; dynamics of the coastal ocean Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Jennifer Krumins
kruminsj@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4397
Microbial ecology; trophic interactions and feedbacks between plants and soil organisms. Science Hall
Montclair State Univerity
Richard Lathrop
lathrop@crssa.rutgers.edu
848-932-1580
Landscape ecology; remote sensing Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Benjamin Lintner
lintner@envsci.rutgers.edu
848-932-5731
Diagnosing and interpreting processes in the climate system, especially in the tropics. Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Julie Lockwood
lockwood@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-9336
Conservation biology, wildlife management, biological invasions Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Richard Lutz
lutz@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3280
Marine ecology and paleoecology; shellfish ecology; deep-sea ecology Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Brooke Maslo
brooke.maslo@rutgers.edu
848-932-5572
Conservation biology, population dynamics, ecosystem services, bat, shorebirds Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
George McGhee
mcghee@rci.rutgers.edu
848-445-3832
Evolutionary theory, theoretical morphology, mass extinction, marine paleoecology Wright Geological Laboratory, Busch Campus
Marci Meixler
meixler@rutgers.edu
848-932-1081

Aquatic ecology and modeling Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Peter J. Morin
peter.morin@rutgers.edu
848-932-3214
Biodiversity and ecosystem functioning; ecological networks; inducible trophic polymorphisms; community ecology Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Daphne Munroe
dmunroe@hsrl.rutgers.edu
856 -785-0074 ext 4325
Invertebrate larval ecology; shellfisheries; and aquaculture. Haskins Shellfish Research Lab, Bivalve, NJ;
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campu
Tetsuya Nakamura
nakamura@dls.rutgers.edu
848-445-7191
Revealing the genetic mechanisms of the fish diversity and their contribution to the fish-to-tetrapod transition Nelson Hall, Busch Campus
Anne Nielsen
nielsen@njaes.rutgers.edu
856-455-3100 x4110
The development and refinement of phenological models for pests of tree fruits and small fruits Thompson Hall, G.H. Cook Campus
Malin Pinsky
malin.pinsky@rutgers.edu
(848) 932-8242
Marine ecology; molecular ecology; biogeography Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Cesar Rodriguez-Saona
crodriguez@sebs.rutgers.edu
609-726-1590, ext. 412
Entomology; behavioral and chemical ecology of insect-plant interactions; herbivore-induced plant responses; multitrophic interactions Marucci Center, Chatsworth, NJ
Mark Robson
mark.robson@rutegrs.edu
848-932-6276
Exposure science and pesticide use, primarily in developing countries; the policies that impact pesticide use on a global scale; risk assessment process as it relates public health and health policy. Foran Hall
Cook Campus
Donald Schaffner
schaffner@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5411.
Modeling microbial growth; quantitative microbial risk assessment Food Science Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Oscar Schofield
oscar@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3265
Phytoplankton ecology and its role in the ocean's biogeochemistry Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Kathleen Scott
scott@biology.rutgers.edu
848-445-2806
Paleoecology; functional morphology; artiodactyl systematics Nelson Hall, Busch Campus
Robert Scott
robertsc@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-6760
Dietary change in human and ape evolution.  Ruth Adams Building
Douglass Campus
Peter Smouse
smouse@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-1124
Population genetics; mathematical ecology; ecological genetics Waller Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Lena Struwe
lena.struwe@rutgers.edu
848-932-6343
Plant systematics and evolution, biogeography, ethnobotany, biodiversity conservation Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Gary Taghon
Taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3249
Marine benthic ecology; foraging theory and behavior; microbial ecology Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Costantino Vetriani
vetriani@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3379
Deep-sea microbiology; extremophiles; adaptations to extreme environments Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Erin Vogel
erin.vogel@rutgers.edu
848-932-9886
Food acquisition and diet selection in nonhuman primates Ruth Adams Building; Douglass Campus
James White
white@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-9711,ext.357
Fungal associates of plants Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
John Wiedenmann
john.wiedenmann@rutgers.edu
848-932-3495
Marine population and ecosystem dynamics; fisheries management; foraging behavior of marine mammals Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Rachael Winfree
rachael.winfree@rutgers.edu
848-932-8315
Pollination ecology; ecosystem services; pollinator conservation Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Ming Xu
mingxu@crssa.rutgers.edu
848-932-9211
Ecosystem ecology; remote sensing; modeling Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Ning Zhang
zhang@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6348
Population and evolutionary biology of fungi; molecular detection of fungal pathogens Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus

Rutgers-Camden
Name Research Interests Location
     


Rutgers-Newark and New Jersey Institute of Technology
Name Research Interests Location
Daniel Bunker
dbunker@njit.edu
973-642-7537
Plant community ecology and global change Colton Hall, NJIT
Brooke Flammang
flammang@njit.edu
973-596-8391
Comparative biomechanics CKB, NJIT
Claus Holzapfel
holzapfe@andromeda.rutgers.edu
973-353-5385
Plant community ecology, species interactions and invasion biology Boyden Hall, Newark Campus
Karina Schafer
karinavr@andromeda.rutgers.edu
973-353-1008
Global change and its effects on terrestrial ecosystems Boyden Hall, Newark Campus
Sara Ruane
sara.ruane@rutgers.edu
973-353-1429
Reptile and amphibian systematics; answering broad,
ontemporary questions in evolutionary biology
Boyden Hall, Newark Campus
Gareth Russell
russell@njit.edu
973-353-1429
Population and community dynamics and evolution; conservation Boyden Hall, Newark Campus
Cary Institute of Ecosystems Studies, Millbrook, NY
Name Research Interests Location
Stuart Findlay
findlays@caryinstitute.org
845- 677-7600, ext. 138
Marine invertebrate ecology The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Joshua Ginsberg
ginsbergj@caryinstitute.org
845-677-5343
Wildlife conservation The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Peter Groffman
groffmanp@caryinstitute.org
845-677-7600, ext. 128
Terrestrial microbial ecology The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Shannon LaDeau
ladeaus@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 204
Ecology of pests and pathogens; hierarchical statistics The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Gary Lovett
lovettg@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 132
Terrestrial ecosystem ecology; biogeochemistry; air pollution The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Richard Ostfeld
ostfeldr@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 136
Population and behavioral ecology; small mammals; herbivore-plant interactions The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Christopher Solomon
solomonc@caryinstitute.org
845-677-7600
Ecology and management of lakes and other aquatic systems. Effects of terrestrial organic matter on lake ecosystems and food webs. Fish ecology and conservation The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Steward T. A. Pickett
picketts@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 130
Plant populations and community organization; vegetation dynamics The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Kathleen Weathers
weathersk@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 137
Ecosystem ecology; nutrient cycling and atmospheric inputs The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY