Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences [Ecology and Evolution Graduate Program]

Faculty

Rutgers-New Brunswick
Name Research Interests Location
Kenneth Able
able@marine.rutgers.edu
609-296-5260, ext. 30
Ecology and behavior of fishes; marine and estuarine ecology Rutgers University Marine Field Station; Marine and Coastal Sciences Building G. H. Cook Campus

Diane Adams
dadams@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3279

Larval ecology and development, deep sea ecology

Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Myla Aronson
myla.aronson@rutgers.edu
848-932-4520
(Adjunct)
Patterns and drivers of global biodiversity; urban ecology; plant ecology Plant Physiology Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Tamar Barkay
barkay@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5664
Microbial transformation of metals Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Joan Bennett
profmycogirl@yahoo.com
848-932-6223
Fungal genetics and secondary metabolism Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus

Debashish Bhattacharya
848-932-6218

Using genomics to understand the origin of algae, their plastids, and place in the tree of life.

Foran Hall,
G.H. Cook Campus

Kay Bidle
bidle@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3467
Marine microbes; phytoplankton physiology/mortality; virology; molecular ecology Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus

Monica Bricelj
mbricelj@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-9709
(Adjunct)

Shellfish ecophysiology/behavior, and aquaculture, especially of suspension-feeding bivalve mollusks.

Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Yana Bromberg
YanaB@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-5638

Bioinformatics approaches to protein function prediction and genome variation analysis

Lipman Hall
G.H. Cook Campus
Joanna Burger
burger@biology.rutgers.edu
732-445-4318
Avian and reptile behavior and ecology; salt marsh ecology; behavioral effects of heavy metals; ecological and human health risk; stakeholder participation Nelson Labs, Busch, Campus
David Bushek
bushek@hsrl.rutgers.edu
856-785-0074, ext. 4327
Shellfish ecology; parasitology; genetics; and aquaculture Haskins Shellfish Research Lab, Bivalve, NJ
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Timothy Casey
tca@rci.rutgers.edu
732-932-9266
Physiological ecology; energetics; thermoregulation; biodiversity Loree Hall, Douglass Campus

Kevin Chen
kcchen@biology.rutgers.edu
732-445-1027

Human population genomics, evolution of small RNAs

Life Sciences Building
 Busch Campus
Keith Cooper
cooper@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5614
Comparative toxicology Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
John Dighton
Dighton@camden.rutgers.edu
609-894-8864
Forest soil ecology; nutrient dynamics; fungi and pollutants Pinelands Field Station, New Lisbon Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Siobain Duffy
duffy@aesop.rutgers.edu
848-932-6299
Emerging viruses; experimental evolution; phylogenetics; phage; microbes Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Ravit Golan Duncan
rgduncan@rci.rutgers.edu
732-932-7496, ext. 8355
Science learning; teacher education; design of inquiry-based learning environments Graduate School of Education, College Ave Campus
David Ehrenfeld
dehrenfeld@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-9553
Effects of technology and society on the natural world.; conservation bology Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Douglas Eveleigh
eveleigh@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5647
Microbial ecology; history of soil microbiology; cellulose recycling; methane Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Paul Falkowski
falko@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3426
Biogeochemical cycles; photosynthesis; biological oceanography; molecular biology and biophysics; physiological adaptation; plant physiology; evolution; mathematical modeling; symbiosis Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Nina Fefferman
fefferman@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-1577
 
Mathematical modeling of social behavior; disease; and population resistance Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Dunne Fong
fong@biology.rutgers.edu
732-445-5268
Biodiversity in free-living and parasitic protozoa Nelson Hall, Busch Campus
Dina Fonseca
dinafons@rci.rutgers.edu
732-932-3146
The genetic epidemiology of disease vectors especially in introduced species Headlee Research Laboratory, G. H. Cook Campus
Randy Gaugler
gaugler@rci.rutgers.edu
732-932-9341
Invertebrate pathology; insect mating systems; vector biology Headlee Research Laboratory, G. H. Cook Campus
Heidi Fuchs
hfuchs@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3252
"Marine population and community ecology; plankton-fluid interactions"
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Robert Goodman
848-932-3600
Diversity and function of microorganisms in natural environments Martin Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Jason Grabosky
Grabosky@sebs.rutgers.edu
732-932-0050
Tree canopy management issues in urban environments Urban Forestry Lab, G. H. Cook Campus
Judith Grassle
jgrassle@imcs.rutgers.edu
848-932-3458
Marine invertebrate life histories and ecology; especially invertebrate larval dispersal, settlement, and recruitment Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Edwin Green
green@crssa.rutgers.edu
848-932-9152
Bayesian inference; quantitative methods; forest growth Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Ximing Guo
xguo@hsrl.rutgers.edu
856-785-0074, ext. 4324
Molluscan biology, genetics, evolution, and aquaculture Haskins Shellfish Research Lab, Bivalve NJ
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Max Haggblom
Haggblom@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-5646
Microbial ecology; environmental and applied microbiology Lipman Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Steven Handel
handel@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-4516
Restoration ecology; urban landscape ecology; plant population ecology; ecology in the design of public parks Plant Physiology Building, G. H. Cook Campus
JeanMarie Hartman
jhartman@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-8488
Plant community ecology; natural disturbance processes; wetlands Blake Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Bradley Hillman
hillman@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-3777
Viruses of plants and fungi, and molecular biology of selected fungi Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus

Olaf Jensen
ojensen@marine.rutgers.edu
410-812-4842

Fisheries science, population dynamics, and ecology of aquatic ecosystems

Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Henry John-Alder
henry@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-1064
Ecological and evolutionary physiology; emphasis on hormone systems in lizards Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Rebecca Jordan
jordan@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-9164
Ecology and the evolution of behavior; learning and environmental behavior; citizen science Environmental and Natural Resources Building, and Waller Hall G. H. Cook Campus

Michael Kennish
kennish@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3386
(Adjunct)

Estuarine and marine ecology, marine geology, human impacts on estuarine and marine environments Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus

Andrew Kern
kern@biology.rutgers.edu
732- 445-3986

Population and comparative genomic approaches to understand genomic variation in an evolutionary context using computational and statistical approaches.

Nelson Hall, Busch Campus
Karl Kjer
kjer@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-9880
Phylogeny of the trichoptera; molecular phylogenetics Blake Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Josh Kohut
kohut@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3496
Physical oceanography; dynamics of the coastal ocean Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Jennifer Krumins
kruminsj@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4397
(Adjunct)

Microbial ecology; trophic interactions and feedbacks between plants and soil organisms.

Science Hall
Montclair State Univerity

Richard Lathrop
lathrop@crssa.rutgers.edu
848-932-1580
Landscape ecology; remote sensing Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Julie Lockwood
lockwood@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-9336
Conservation biology, wildlife management, biological invasions Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Richard Lutz
lutz@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3280
Marine ecology and paleoecology; shellfish ecology; deep-sea ecology Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Bonnie McCay
mccay@sebs.rutgers.edu
732-932-9153, ext. 314
Human ecology; fisheries ecology Cook Office Building, G. H. Cook Campus
George McGhee
mcghee@rci.rutgers.edu
732-445-3832
Evolutionary theory, theoretical morphology, mass extinction, marine paleoecology Wright Geological Laboratory, Busch Campus
Marci Meixler
meixler@aesop.rutgers.edu
848-932-1081
(Adjunct)
Aquatic ecology and modeling Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Peter J. Morin
pjmorin@rci.rutgers.edu
848-932-3214
Biodiversity and ecosystem functioning; ecological networks; inducible trophic polymorphisms; community ecology Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Cesar Rodriguez-Saona
crodriguez@sebs.rutgers.edu
609-726-1590, ext. 412
Entomology; behavioral and chemical ecology of insect-plant interactions; herbivore-induced plant responses; multitrophic interactions Marucci Center, Chatsworth, NJ
Mark Robson
robson@aesop.rutgers.edu
848-932-6276

Exposure science and pesticide use, primarily in developing countries; the policies that impact pesticide use on a global scale; risk assessment process as it relates public health and health policy.

Foran Hall
Cook Campus

Donald Schaffner
schaffner@sebs.rutgers.edu

848-932-5411.

Modeling microbial growth; quantitative microbial risk assessment Food Science Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Oscar Schofield
oscar@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3265
Phytoplankton ecology and its role in the ocean's biogeochemistry Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Kathleen Scott
scott@biology.rutgers.edu
732-445-2806
Paleoecology; functional morphology; artiodactyl systematics Nelson Hall, Busch Campus
Robert Scott
robertsc@rci.rutgers.edu
732-932-6760
Dietary change in human and ape evolution.  Ruth Adams Building
Douglass Campus
Peter Smouse
smouse@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-1124
Population genetics; mathematical ecology; ecological genetics Waller Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Michael Sukhdeo
sukhdeo@sebs.rutgers.edu
732-932-9406
Parasites and their roles in food webs Bartlett Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Lena Struwe
struwe@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6343
Plant systematics and evolution, biogeography, ethnobotany, biodiversity conservation Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Gary Taghon
Taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3249
Marine benthic ecology; foraging theory and behavior; microbial ecology Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Robert Trivers
trivers@rci.rutgers.edu
732-947-8880
Natural selection and social theory; evolutionary genetics; deceit and self-deception Biological Sciences Building, Douglass Campus
Costantino Vetriani
vetriani@marine.rutgers.edu
848-932-3379
Deep-sea microbiology; extremophiles; adaptations to extreme environments Marine and Coastal Sciences Building, G. H. Cook Campus
Erin Vogel
erin.vogel@rutgers.edu
732-932-9886
Food acquisition and diet selection in nonhuman primates Ruth Adams Building; Douglass Campus
James White
white@sebs.rutgers.edu
732-932-9711,ext.357
Fungal associates of plants Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Rachael Winfree
rwinfree@rci.rutgers.edu
732-932-8315
Pollination ecology; ecosystem services; pollinator conservation Blake Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Ming Xu
mingxu@crssa.rutgers.edu
848-932-9211
Ecosystem ecology; remote sensing; modeling Environmental and Natural Resources Building, G. H. Cook Campus

Ning Zhang
zhang@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6348

Population and evolutionary biology of fungi; molecular detection of fungal pathogens Foran Hall, G. H. Cook Campus
Rutgers-Camden
Name Research Interests Location
Rutgers-Newark and New Jersey Institute of Technology
Name Research Interests Location
Daniel Bunker
dbunker@njit.edu
973-642-7537
Plant community ecology and global change Colton Hall, NJIT
Claus Holzapfel
holzapfe@andromeda.rutgers.edu
973-353-5385
Plant community ecology, species interactions and invasion biology Boyden Hall, Newark Campus

Karina Schafer
karinavr@andromeda.rutgers.edu
973-353-1008

Global change and its effects on terrestrial ecosystems Boyden Hall, Newark Campus
Gareth Russell
russell@njit.edu
973-353-1429
Population and community dynamics and evolution; conservation Boyden Hall, Newark Campus
Cary Institute of Ecosystems Studies, Millbrook, NY
Name Research Interests Location
Jonathan Cole
colej@caryinstitute.org
845-677-7600, ext. 135
Aquatic ecology; microbiology; biogeochemistry Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Stuart Findlay
findlays@caryinstitute.org
845- 677-7600, ext. 138
Marine invertebrate ecology Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Peter Groffman
groffmanp@caryinstitute.org
845-677-7600, ext. 128
Terrestrial microbial ecology Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Shannon LaDeau
ladeaus@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 204
Ecology of pests and pathogens; hierarchical statistics Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Gary Lovett
lovettg@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 132
Terrestrial ecosystem ecology; biogeochemistry; air pollution Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Richard Ostfeld
ostfeldr@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 136
Population and behavioral ecology; small mammals; herbivore-plant interactions Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Steward T. A. Pickett
picketts@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 130
Plant populations and community organization; vegetation dynamics Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
David Strayer
strayerd@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 148
Freshwater ecology; energy flow; ecology of freshwater invertebrates Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
Kathleen Weathers
weathersk@ecostudies.org
845-677-7600, ext. 137
Ecosystem ecology; nutrient cycling and atmospheric inputs Cary Institute, Millbrook, NY
UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Name Research Interests Location
Michael Gochfeld
gochfeld@eohsi.rutgers.edu
732-445-0123, ext. 627
Environmental toxicology; avian behavioral ecology Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute, Busch Campus
Daniel Wartenburg
dew@eoshi.rutgers.edu
732-445-0197
Ordination; spatial pattern; epidemiology Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute, Busch Campus
 
     
     

Useful Links

-----